HTTP Status Codes List for REST API

HTTP Status Codes can be divided categorized as

  1. Informational Status Codes(1XX)
  2. Success Status Codes (2XX)
  3. Redirection Status Codes (3xx)
  4. Client Error Status Codes (4xx)
  5. Server Error Status Codes (5xx)

Informational Status Codes (1xx)

  • 100 (Continue): The client can continue with the request
  • 101 (Switching Protocol): The server switches the protocol

Success Status Codes (2xx)

  • 200 OK: The request has succeeded or ok.
  • 201 Created: The request is succeeded and a new resource is created
  • 202 Accepted: The request is accepted for processing. But the process is not completed.
  • 203 Non-Authoritative Information: The information in the entity-header is not from the original server. It may be from local or from a third party.
  • 204 No content: The server fulfilled the request, but does not return an entity-body. Status code and header are given in the response.
  • 205 Reset Content: The server fulfilled the request and clear document view to the client.

Redirection Status Codes (3xx)

  • 300 Multiple Choices
  • 301 Moved Permanently: The requested page has permanently moved to another page or URL.
  • 302 Found: The requested page has temporarily moved to another page or URL.
  • 303 See Other: The requested page can be seen under other URLs also.
  • 304 Not Modified
  • 305 Use Proxy
  • 306 (Unused): The code was used in the previous version. The code is reversed and no longer used.
  • 307 Temporary Redirect: The requested page has temporarily moved to new URL.

Client Error Status Codes (4xx)

  • 400 Bad Request: The server will not understand the request
  • 401 Unauthorized: The requested user is not authorized.
  • 402 Permanent Required: The code is reserved. So it cannot be used for any other purpose.
  • 403 forbidden: The server understood the request. But cannot fulfill the forbidden page.
  • 404 Not Found: The requested URL is not found.
  • 405 Method Not allowed:  The method specified in the request URL is not found.
  • 406 Not Acceptable: The server can generate a response. But it is not acceptable to the client.
  • 407 Proxy Authentication Required: Similar to 401. But the server must authenticate with a proxy URL.
  • 408 Request Timeout: The client did not produce a request within the time. So unable to complete the request and time out.
  • 409 Conflict: The server cannot complete the request. Because of a conflict.
  • 410 Gone: The requested URL is no longer available.

Server Error Status Codes (5xx)

  • 500 Internal Server Error: The request is not completed. The server encountered an unexpected condition.
  • 501 Not implemented: The server did not support the functionality required. So the request is rejected.
  • 502 Bad Gateway: The request face an encountered error from the upstream server. The request is not complete.
  • 503 Service Unavailable: The request is not completed. The server facing maintenance or service unavailable issues.
  • 504 Gateway Timeout: The gateway server or proxy server did not receive a timely response from the upstream server or auxiliary server.
  • 505 HTTP Version Not Supported: The server does not support the HTTP protocol version or refuses to support the version.