UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) Exam Details

  • UPSC stands for Union Public Service Commission.
  • UPSC is a central agency of India that conducts various exams in order to recruit candidates for various cental and all India services such as, IAS(Indian Administrative Service) which is also known as Civil Services Exam, IFS(Indian Foreign Service), IRS(Indian Revenue Service), NDA(National Democratic Alliance), etc.
  • IAS Exam is one of the most reputed and toughest exams to crack in India.
  • Every year lakhs of aspirants take UPSC Exam, while only thousands of aspirants are recruited, that clearly shows that only a few hardworking candidates can get success in UPSC Examination and in order to get success in UPSC Exam hard work is not enough but by a planned hard work candidate can crack the UPSC Exam.
  • This article provides you all the UPSC Exam details required for your preparation
  • UPSC recruitment takes place annually.
  • The UPSC Notification for the exam that gives details regarding UPSC Exam Eligibility, UPSC Exam Date, UPSC Last Date for application, etc, is released by the commission in the month of April.UPSC Exam is conducted in three phases:
    1. Preliminary Examination
    2. Mains Examination
    3. Personality Test
  • UPSC Exam Pattern of above three phases are followed;
    1. Phase 1: A preliminary examination or CSAT (Objective Section) consisting of two objective-type papers (general studies and aptitude test).
    2. Phase 2: The main examination is subjective section, consisting of nine papers of conventional (essay)
    3. Phase 3: After these two phases there is a Personality test/Interview.

UPSC Exam Details

  • For the IAS, IFS, and IPS, a candidate must be a citizen of India
  • For the IRS and other services, a candidate must be one of the following:
    • A citizen of India
    • A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

UPSC Exam Educational Qualification

  • Candidate willing to take UPSC Exam must have as a minimum one of the following educational qualifications:
    • A degree from a Central, State, or Deemed university.
    • A degree received through correspondence or distance education.
    • A degree from an open university.
    • A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above.

UPSC Exam Age Limit

  • A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on August 1 of the year of examination.
  • For OBC the upper age limit is 35, and for SC and ST the limit is 37 years.

Number Of Attempts For UPSC Exam

  • General category candidates: 4
  • OBC category candidates = 7
  • SC/ST Candidates = unlimited